Date Night

Posted on Updated on

Have you ever been on a date where he planned the whole thing, but you had to pick him up, drive, and pay for everything? I had the pleasure of doing that tonight, and believe me, it was absolutely my pleasure! I went on a date with my four-year-old son, Tayne. His date of choice was to go to the mall to play on the toys, followed by ice cream cones and silly pictures. It wasn’t a long or extravagant date, but it was an absolute blast!

My husband and I decided a while ago that we need to set up regular “date nights” for the two of us. What we’ve begun to realize lately is that we desire to spend time with each of our boys individually, as well. Tayne (4 years) has had to get used to having a little brother around, dividing our attention, and Thorin (18 months) has never known a world without his older brother. It’s our desire to invest in them individually as well as together, so that we can know and understand their unique personalities. So, last month we set up “date nights” every Thursday. One week it’s Tim/Tayne & me/Thorin, the next it’s Tim/Thorin & me/Tayne, then we get a Mommy/Daddy date, and the next week a family date. So far they haven’t been outrageous or expensive, but they’ve been fun! We’ve stuck to parks, play areas, picnics and dessert dates. Tayne decided that next month on our Mommy/Tayne date he wants to bake and decorate a cake- how fun does that sound!?

I am so excited at the idea of getting to know my children and their unique personalities even better. When we were tucking him into bed tonight, Tayne looked at my husband and said, “Daddy, I had sooo much fun on my date with Mom, tonight!” It absolutely melted my heart because I was thinking the exact same thing! It is my hope that we don’t let the busyness of life get in the way of this new “tradition”, but that we continue to show our boys that they are not just a unit, but individuals who are deeply and unconditionally loved.

Father God, thank You so much for trusting our precious boys to us. Help us not to take lightly the role of shaping them into honorable men who love and glorify You with their lives. Guide our steps as we learn to love the unique personalities that You have given them. Thank You, again, Father, for blessing us so greatly! In Jesus name, Amen.2015-05-14

2 thoughts on “Date Night

    Mom said:
    May 16, 2015 at 12:16 am

    Love you, so proud of who you are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

