Better Safe than Sorry

Posted on Updated on

We’ve all heard people say, “It’s better to be safe than sorry.” Well, sometimes it just doesn’t feel that straight forward. But as it turns out it’s still pretty much true! I spent 5 hours at the E.R. yesterday having everyone I encountered say that exact same thing… for 5 hours!

Let me back up a couple of days… I was singing along to the radio with my son when all of a sudden my words came out as a bunch of gibberish. These were songs I know, that I sing all the time, and I couldn’t make myself say the words. About 5 minutes after it first happened, my lower lip started to go numb. A few minutes later, three of the fingers on my right hand were numb. And by the time 15 minutes had passed my entire right hand was numb.

I started to freak out a little, and began reciting 9-1-1 to my 4-year-old. I was double checking that he knew how and when he should call. Within the next hour, my vision was blurry, my left arm was numb, and I had an outrageous headache and terrible nausea. I was trying to go over the signs of a stroke in my mind, and trying not to go into full panic-mode in front of my kids while we waited for my husband to get home. This didn’t exactly seem like a great thing to send in a text message when he would be home in 20 minutes anyway.

However, by the time he got home all of my symptoms except the headache and nausea were gone… It freaked him out, but we decided not to go anywhere, just to call the Dr. the next day. So, the next morning I called the Dr.’s office and they had no Dr. in and no one on call. They suggested going in to Urgent Care. Fortunately I called Urgent Care before I went, because they told me they weren’t capable of handling my symptoms and recommended the E.R.

At this point I was ready to wait a couple of weeks until I could get in to see my Dr. After all, my symptoms were gone aside from a lingering headache. My husband and mother had different ideas, though. You guessed it, “Better safe than sorry!” So, off we went to the E.R. When we got there the Dr. asked about my symptoms and ordered an MRI. It basically boiled down to one of 5 things: Complex Migraine, Stroke, Multiple Sclerosis, Brain Tumor or Brain Aneurysm. It was at this moment that I realized the depth of truth in that overused saying. These are not things to screw around with and if taking a few hundred pictures of my brain can rule them out, or bring peace, it’s worth it, right?!

It turned out it was worth it (well, aside from the fact that for this claustrophobic girl I’d rather run a full marathon than get back in that MRI machine)! It came back clean and ruled out everything except Complex Migraine. Praise the Lord!!! I had to do a little research on Complex Migraines, my headache wasn’t anywhere near the severity I would consider a migraine. I guess it was my stroke-like symptoms leading up to it that make it “complex”. But, migraines, we can deal with migraines!

It was a crazy, scary experience, but there was an incredible sense of peace sitting in the hospital room. I knew that whatever was going on in my body was already going on. If there was MS, there was already MS. If it was a tumor, it was already there.  I just needed peace to get through the waiting to the finding out. God is so faithful and definitely showed up! His peace came in a very overwhelming calmness, but also in the form of reassurance, of “better safe than sorry”. Looking at the MRI, we found out I am safe, rather than being sorry. And with some of those other options, it could have been a pretty big sorry.

Father God, thank You for showing up at the hospital to bring me peace yesterday! Thank You for knowing my body, and for caring about little things, Lord, even headaches! Thank You that even when things are uncertain and scary, You are certain, You are unchanging, You are good! Help me to rest in Your peace, God! Peace that goes beyond what we alone are capable of. In Your precious name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “Better Safe than Sorry

    Cindy said:
    June 29, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Praise God…you will be in my thoughts and prayuers for a quick resolution to solve your health issues.

    Like

Leave a Reply

