MFM: Week 1, Day 2

Posted on

Week 1, Day 2 (-0.5 pounds)

Heart: I recently made a decision to quit my job and stay home with my kiddos. I never thought I was the stay-at-home type. I’m a pretty driven individual and I crave a challenge. Little did I know parenting was going to be the best challenge of my life! God put it on my heart to be home with my little ones while they’re young. There will always be someone to teach my students math, but there isn’t anyone else who is going to fill the role of raising my children to be compassionate, kind, honest citizens who love and honor God. That’s been helpful in this journey of learning to balance my roles, because I have one less role to focus on for now. I’m not convinced teaching math plays no part in my future, but for now it’s on hold. The thing I’m going to need God’s help remembering is that I didn’t leave my job for rest and relaxation. I left my job (a job I love) because He called me to a new job, a new mission.

Soul: I experienced salvation for the first time in 6th grade at AWANA (a Bible memorization club similar to a youth group). That was when I admitted to God that I’m flawed and asked Him to be my Savior. But I say “for the first time” because there was a moment several years ago that I truly met with God. I’ve never heard God speak in an audible voice (maybe He does, but I’ve never experienced it), but He absolutely “spoke” to me. This happened to my favorite me back when I spent five minutes with God every day. Not a huge amount of time, but an intentional several minutes set aside to commune with my Heavenly Father. I didn’t typically use this time to pray, but rather to listen, to feel. I wanted God to break my heart for the things that break His. I wanted to know more about Him and just be in His presence. I wanted it like I do with a best friend. I miss the closeness we had and it’s what I’m searching for in my soul. So, I’m reinstating my “5 minutes” every morning with my cup of coffee. It usually ends up being more than five minutes, but if it’s only five that’s alright!

Strength: How did I manage to lose half a pound in one day, you ask? Probably just water weight or going to the bathroom! I didn’t make any crazy changes yesterday.  In fact, I can’t do anything super drastic for a while; I had a baby three and a half months ago and I’m breastfeeding. Maybe it’s a good thing, though. Drastic dieting/exercise can bring about drastic results, but I also find that I gain the weight back quickly if I deviate from my drastic plan. So, maybe slow and steady is the way to go! Growing up my mom told me that it’s easier to achieve something if you set a realistic goal. So today I want to set a goal for myself. I’m going to stay away from specific numbers, because I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment, but I’m going to give myself two years (July of 2018) to go on this journey free of guilt and shame. Could I lose all of the weight I want to lose and get in great shape in less than two years? Absolutely! But, can I do it in a realistic way that is truly changing me and forming sustainable healthy habits I can live with long-term? I don’t think there’s a quick fix for that. Two years seems like a long time looking forward, but it’s going to get here whether I start working on being my favorite me or not. So, here I go…

Leave a Reply

