MFM: Week 1, Day 3

Posted on

Week 1, Day 3 (-1 pound)

Heart: Yesterday was a good day. It was productive, restful, and fun! I got the house cleaned (including stripping the beds), all of the laundry done, and even managed to play some Hungry Hungry Hippos between switching outlets as I was vacuuming! I also got to rest when my kiddos had nap/quiet time. I know they say ‘sleep when the baby sleeps’, but with two older kids running around… yeah right! But yesterday I got to! In the afternoon we painted pictures (yes I painted a picture as well) and we went to the park where the boys got to ride their bikes! My oldest got into bed last night and said, “Mom, today was a great day! I can’t wait for tomorrow to be just like it!” What a sweetheart. And I couldn’t agree with him more.

Soul: It’s not about me. There was a time when that was like a mantra for me. In fact, it was for my favorite me. When plans changed (which I don’t naturally handle well) my reaction was, “It’s not about me.” So what was it about? Furthering the Kingdom of God. It was/is/always will be about showing people the love of Jesus. I’m reading through the book of Acts (alright, I started two days ago, so I’m just starting to read the book of Acts) and today Acts 2:46-47 really stood out to me. Specifically, “They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.” This past Sunday our Pastor spoke about the need to live sent, to live intentionally right where God has us. What if I don’t need to carry the burden of bringing the entire world to a saving relationship with Christ? What if all I’m responsible for is inviting people into my home to share a meal, have a conversation and love on them? What if God is the One responsible for adding to the number “those who were being saved”? In fact, I’m convinced that’s the case. It’s not my job to save everyone, I’m completely powerless to do that. But I can love. I can invite people to dinner. I can visit and build relationships. And I can let God take care of the change in their hearts. What freedom there is in letting Him take that responsibility!

Strength: I’m down one pound, total. I haven’t made any big changes, so it’s likely still just normal fluctuation. I think getting up before my kids and having some ‘me time’ has given me more energy these past few days. It seems silly to think that getting less sleep would give me more energy, but I’m certainly not lacking sleep. Baby sleeps from 10pm to 6am, which gives me a solid 7-8 hours of sleep every night. I think getting up, getting myself ready, having a cup of coffee, and writing this blog in the morning gives me exactly what I need to get the day started right. It allows me to clear my head and have (what feels like) an adult conversation. We’ll see if it continues, but I’m hopeful!

Leave a Reply

