Week 1, Day 7

Posted on

Week 1, Day 7 (-1.5 pounds)

Heart: So, last night we put my youngest son to bed before his older brother and spent some special time with my oldest son. We played LIFE, the board game. I was a little worried that he might not really understand it (he’s only 6), but I was completely blown away! Not only did he seem to understand and have a blast, but my husband and I had a blast playing with him! He is a competitive little stinker who made me trade salary cards with him over and over so he could make more money! It was also super fun to see the game of LIFE through the eyes of someone who’s never played. The careers, the silly things you do throughout life, even the hilarious names and descriptions of the houses. He was cracking up and we had so much fun. Now that I know he can handle certain board games, I’m trying to come up with the next one we can try. Payday, maybe?

Soul: This morning I read the story of Ananias and Sapphira (Acts 5) and, to be honest, it totally confused me. Why in the world were these two people killed for keeping some of the money from the sale of their land? That’s seems reasonable to me. However, as I reread it a couple of times trying to understand why God would have wanted it in the Bible, I discovered that Sapphira was asked a very important question, “Is this the price you and Ananias got for the land?” and she replied “Yes.” The problem is that they had gotten more and kept some. Perhaps the problem didn’t lie in keeping some of it for themselves, but trying to pass what they gave the apostles as everything they had made on their land. The deceit with which they kept their portion rather than just openly declaring that they had kept some. It seems like God was trying to send a pretty clear message about how much he values honesty.

Strength: Well, over the past two days I gained back half a pound. Again, I don’t know if this is significant or just typical fluctuation. I tend to weigh in the morning, but could be more consistent. The thing is, this journey has to do with so much more than just losing weight, so I’m not too stressed about it. Plus, over the course of the whole week, I’m still down 1.5 pounds and I’ll definitely take that!

Leave a Reply

