MFM: Week 3, Day 5

Posted on

Week 3, Day 5

Heart: Once I made the decision to stay at home, I looked for tips to help me be successful! One of the biggest tips that I saw repeated many times involved getting dressed every day. Sipping a cup of coffee, wearing comfy jammies, and reading a favorite book first this in the morning… that’s what staying at home is all about right?! Until all three kids wake up at the exact same time and come running into the room. At least two of them want to be on your lap and all three begin complaining of being hungry. You put your book down and begin the day! Three or four hours later you’ve made breakfast, watched a couple of episodes of Clifford, tried to convince your kids to go play outside, and started making lunch… all still wearing your comfy jammies. Wait, what?! So, we started “High 5’s” at our house. It seems like something we’re doing for my kids, and we are. But, we’re also doing it for my sake! Our morning high-five is sung to the tune “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” and goes like this: “Clothes, clothes, put them on. Then go make your bed. Brush your teeth and feed the dog and then we’ll get you fed.” When we’re sitting down eating breakfast, we celebrate completing everything with a high five! Our evening high-five is sung to the tune of “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” like this “Clean up, jammies, brush your teeth. Songs & prayers then go to sleep.” When we’re getting tucked into bed we celebrate with another high five. My kiddos love doing their high fives! I love that it gets our daily routine done, gets me dressed, is self-reinforcing (with the high fives) and gets their rooms cleaned on a regular basis. In fact, a few times I’ve caught my six-year-old cleaning up his room at various times throughout the day without being asked! I guess it makes the evening clean up a little easier!

2016-07-21 08.26.31

Soul: It is well with my soul currently. However, I can tell Satan is on the prowl. I’ve mentioned before that he tends to attack my thoughts and he’s certainly been at work trying to do so. Fortunately, spending time in the morning with Jesus reminds me that I have someone to turn to. Yes, I all but tattle, “Jesus, Satan is trying to give me thoughts again. Please make him leave me alone!” But it’s effective, so I’ll stick with it. I feel close to Jesus right now, which is how my favorite me felt. I like that!

Strength: I figured today I’d give a quick update on my trial with no red meat. So far, it’s going really well! I’ve found it relatively easy to choose chicken over beef or pork and I don’t mind ground turkey at all! We’ve used it in taco salad and in spaghetti recently and I can’t really tell the difference. The biggest challenge, truthfully, has been bacon. Good grief bacon is popular right now- it’s on practically everything! And I don’t particularly care for bacon’s turkey counterpart. So, for now, I’m going without bacon (sad, I know!). Other than that, I feel like no red meat has been a pretty great transition for me!

Leave a Reply

