Raspberry Lime Zucchini Cake

Posted on Updated on

2016-08-12 18.17.04-1

Yesterday my friend left 4 zucchini sitting on my counter by ‘accident’. Her garden is overflowing and she brought them in case I wanted them, then forgot to take them home. Oops… yeah right! So I was in need of some zucchini recipes that I could get by my husband. He’s not a huge fan so they typically have to involve the word ‘cake’. Usually I make chocolate zucchini cake. Alright, by usually I mean every time. Literally, every single time I get zucchini I make chocolate cake. But today I decided to look for a different type of zucchini cake. I happen to have 9 limes in my fridge (what the heck?) so I was hoping to use a couple of them. I found a recipe for a  blackberry lemon zucchini cake that looked ah-maz-ing. It had already been adapted from a blueberry lemon cake, so I figured it’d be ok if I adapted it slightly. I used lime and raspberries instead of lemon and blackberries. I also didn’t have any cream cheese on hand, so I found a quick lime buttercream frosting I could use. My kids, of course, made the recommendation that I make the frosting super green and add sprinkles… so fun! It turned out unbelievable!!! My husband and kids devoured it! Ok, so did I…

2016-08-12 19.05.39

 

Raspberry Lime Zucchini Cake 

  • 3 cups shredded zucchini
  • zest from 1 lime
  • 1 ½ cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup melted butter
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups raspberries

Lime Buttercream Frosting

  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • zest from 1 lime
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • dash of salt
  • 16 oz. powdered sugar
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp milk

 

  • Preheat oven to 350°. Grease and flour a bundt pan.
  • In large bowl beat together zucchini, zest, sugar, eggs, melted butter, and lime juice.
  • In separate bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add to wet ingredients and mix well. Fold in raspberries.
  • Pour into pan and bake 60-75 minutes until knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  • Remove from oven and let cool for 15-20 minutes. Invert cake onto serving plate and cool completely (I was in a hurry and didn’t let it cool quite long enough).
  • While cooling, make frosting. In medium bowl beat together butter, zest, vanilla, and salt.
  • Gradually add powdered sugar, lime juice and 1 Tbsp of milk. If needed, add up to 1 more Tbsp of milk to get desired consistency. Optional: Add food coloring to make it ridiculously green (13 drops green, 1 drop blue).
  • Frost cake (add sprinkles for fun if desired) and enjoy. Seriously, you’ll enjoy it!
One thought on “Raspberry Lime Zucchini Cake

    MFM: Week 4, Day 6 « My Journey said:
    August 13, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    […] friend that ‘accidentally’ left zucchini on my counter which led to the making of an amazing raspberry lime zucchini cake. (Yeah, she’s pretty great!) So, for now, I guess blogging is my newest hobby. It gives me some […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

