MFM: Week 5, Day 1

Posted on Updated on

Week 5, Day 1

Heart: Yesterday my potty training two-year-old came downstairs saying, “Mom, I need help wiping!” A mom’s favorite sentence. So, I helped him get wiped and my husband went to investigate the mess… but there was no mess! He needed to go ‘number 2’ so he went into the bathroom all by himself and did his business. He didn’t come tell us anything until he was ready to be wiped! WHAT?! Way to go, Bubby!! We had another dance party to ‘Celebration’ by Kool & the Gang. (Dance parties are a pretty big deal at our house!) I don’t know at what point a child is considered potty trained, but we haven’t had an accident of any kind in our house for ten days, including nighttime and nap time!! I’m still pinching myself that this has gone so smoothly! Better go find some wood to knock on…

Soul: Yesterday, we got the opportunity to invite three different families to our house for dinner! Schedules don’t coincide for a few weeks because of school starting, but we’re working on getting dates nailed down. It’s awesome how quickly God works sometimes. Or maybe it’s that I notice it more when I’m watching for Him to move. Either way, there wasn’t really time to lose sight of His call. He called me to something and started providing opportunities the same day! I get to cook dinner, chat with people and let God to the hard work! I’m super excited to see what He’s got planned!

Strength: I love watching Ironman races. My husband and I have been going for the past several years to watch a friend of ours compete and it is seriously the most motivating event ever! On the one hand we have our friends we’re keeping track of and celebrating and on the other are total strangers that we’re cheering on! There are thousands of people doing one of the most challenging physical events on the planet and we get to join their journey! I have watched a woman crawl, literally crawl, across the finish line because her body gave out but she refused to give up. I have shouted a countdown at the top of my lungs and stomped and banged on bleachers to help motivate a man to finish with 3 seconds remaining on the clock. Three seconds!!! I have broken down into tears watching men and women cross the finish line and start sobbing with elation. It is the most inspirational event I have ever witnessed. I go every year and will continue to do so! But, every year I have to fight shame to get myself there. I feel like I don’t belong at an event like that. In my life I have completed two races (one 5k and one half-marathon). I have signed up and paid for more, but fear and shame have kept me home. I just discovered virtual runs and may give it a try. If you haven’t heard of it, a virtual run is set up by a company to sponsor a charity but can be run anywhere. There is a window in which to complete your run (5k, 10k, or half-marathon) and you submit your time online. What’s great, though, is that you can walk, jog, run anywhere and anytime (within the window) that suits you. You can even complete the event on a treadmill if you want! The beauty of it for someone like me is I get the motivation of signing up for a race, getting a bib number and a finisher’s medal without the fear, shame, and pressure felt at a typical running event. There aren’t 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place medals and it won’t qualify you for anything, but those things aren’t important to me, I just want to train for and complete a few runs for me. I think I’m going to sign up for one and start training for it. We’ll see how it goes. I figure if all it accomplishes is getting me running it was successful and money well spent.

Leave a Reply

