MFM: Week 9, Day 4

Posted on Updated on

September 15, 2016

Week 9, Day 4

Heart: Yesterday I worked on Halloween costumes. I love making costumes for my kiddos. The only problem is they seem to have this unrealistic idea of what I’m capable of doing with fabric. Last year Banayner told me he wanted to be an egg. Sweet! We’ll have a little dinosaur tail coming out the bottom- “No, mom! Not a dinosaur egg. Just an egg.” Ok, we’ll put the shell on your head and it’ll be cracked- “No, mom! Not a cracked egg. Just an egg.” Oh… alright. Maybe we do it with a yolk in the middle like a fried- “Mom! I want to be a hard-boiled egg.” Um… ok.

So I had the only 5-year-old hard-boiled egg last year and let me tell you, the costume was adorable! But it was also a major challenge! In fact, I was worried that people might not realize it was an egg, so we put a ‘Farm Fresh’ stamp on it and he decided to wear a yellow shirt underneath as the yolk. As I was sewing this 3-dimensional egg, I realized that we had crossed a line in which my son now believes I’m capable of sewing anything. Thankfully this year he wants to be Donald Duck and I can make a few slight changes to the egg and voila! Donald Duck! When he first said he wanted to be Donald Duck I started double checking that he was sure, don’t 6-year-olds usually want to be superheroes? Then I realized that once we begin the superheroes, there’s no going back. So, I’ve decided to embrace what is likely his last ‘little boy’ Halloween costume. As I show him pieces of his costume, he’s getting more and more excited! And so am I!

Soul: Have you ever been so filled with the presence of God while worshiping that opening your eyes seems scary. It’s almost like you’ve been transported to His presence and opening your eyes will just remind you that you haven’t actually gone anywhere, but you’re still standing in the middle of the church? It’s one of my favorite feelings in the world. It’s exciting, scary, and overwhelming all at once. It leads to shaking and feeling like you’re going to burst at the seams. This type of encounter with God doesn’t happen often, but it is the closest to God I’ve ever felt in a public place. Don’t you wish sometimes, that you could bottle up moments like those and have them handy for the times you need them most? I suppose writing about it is as close as I’ll get to bottling it up. I’ll have it to look at for those moments when, in my humanness, I forget that He dwells within me.

Strength: Being at home this year has given me the time and ability to try some homemade recipes. This week I’ve baked a few loaves of homemade bread (I forgot how awesome fresh, warm bread is!), some cheese crackers (that my kids said were better than the ones we buy <3) and we’ve swapped out fruit snacks for homemade jello jigglers. I’m finding that the kids don’t care if they’re store-bought or homemade, and my homemade versions are way healthier! We’ve also been snacking on frozen grapes (sigh… so delicious) and pineapple. Next I’ve got my eye on some fruit leather recipes and some homemade cereal/granola bars. We’ll see how it goes, but we’ve been pleasantly surprised so far. Healthy and delicious- heck yes!

Leave a Reply

