French Toast Fries

Posted on

French Toast Fries

2016-09-21 09.49.05-1.jpg

My kids love Uncrustables! Oh, who am I kidding? Everyone in my family loves them, the hubs and I included! But the cost can sure add up when you’ve got so many people eating them. So I started making them at home myself with a sandwich cutter and sealer. They’re awesome! The ungodly amount of bread left from the edges and the ends isn’t…

Unsure of what to do with that much leftover crust and unwilling to just throw it away I got creative. I started making homemade croutons… oh my word they are phenomenal! But, I quickly realized that I was making croutons at four times the rate we were eating them. After filling several gallon bags with them and giving a bunch away I realized that I had to get more creative.

So, of course, bread pudding! But with one batch of sandwiches I had enough crust to make 2 9×13 pans of bread pudding! Don’t get me wrong, it’s delicious (I did one traditional with cinnamon and raisins and the other with peanut butter and chocolate chips… oh my!), but our house does not need multiple giant pans of bread pudding sitting around taunting us at all hours of the day and night. Yes, I said us… yes, I meant me.

These ideas are great and I’ll continue to use them, but I need something else to do with all of these leftover crusts so that I’ll have a few things to rotate between. That’s when French toast sticks came to mind. The only problem is French toast sticks are big, thick slices of bread and my crust pieces are thin. They’re more like… French fries. Thus the idea of French Toast Fries! They seemed like they’d be really similar to French toast sticks with one major exception… I’m not cooking each one individually on a griddle or in a pan like I would with sticks. That would take forever and if there is one thing I am more than frugal… it’s impatient! It has to be cheap, easy, and yummy! And around our house, these French Toast Fries certainly fit the bill!

2016-09-21-09-49-20-1

Ingredients

6-8 slices bread (I use the leftover crust after making homemade Uncrustables)

1/2-2/3 Cup Milk

2 Eggs

1 Tsp Cinnamon

1 Tsp Vanilla

Process

  • Slice bread into very thin strips (1/2 inch wide)
  • Combine remaining ingredients in large bowl and whisk to mix well.
  • Add strips of bread a handful at a time to coat evenly.
  • Place coated strips on greased cookie sheet. (Forgetting to grease it makes for a nightmare)
  • Bake at 375° for 10 minutes. Flip strips over and bake an additional 10 minutes. (I actually prefer mine crispier which is less like French toast, so I did them at 425° for 10 minutes, flipped and baked an additional 5 minutes)
  • Serve with maple syrup for dipping or place in an airtight bag and freeze.
Leave a Reply

