MFM: Week 18, Day 1

Posted on

Week 18, Day 1 (-5 pounds)

Heart: Well, Thor-man had a birthday yesterday. I can’t believe how fast my kiddos are growing up. You know how everyone says, “It goes so fast!”… well, they’re right! This year he wanted a Daniel Tiger birthday party, so everything was yellow, orange and red. The kids helped blow up balloons, hang streamers, and we even drew little Daniel Tigers on some of the mandarin oranges. But his favorite part was the cake. He had a Daniel Tiger cake. I made the inside of the cake tiger-striped with chocolate and vanilla cakes (note to self, runny batter works best) and frosted it to look like DT. I’ll be honest, cake decorating scares the crap out of me! It’s so intimidating and there’s virtually no room for error! The scariest of all decorating things, though… piping tips! There are approximate 7 billion different tips in the world and I’m looking for just the right one. It’s like I need match.com for baking tools! But for now, I frost cakes with spatulas, spoons, and toothpicks. And hey, it gets the job done! Eventually, I probably need to conquer my fear of the piping tip, though. Seems like they might actually be pretty useful…

2016-11-13 15.07.41.jpg

Soul: Between sickness and the busy-ness of life for the past few weeks, if I wasn’t serving on worship team, the kids and I weren’t able to make it to church. Yesterday, though, I got to sit in service without being on the worship team. I wasn’t singing, running media or doing audio, I just got to worship. It was awesome! I didn’t realize how much I’d missed just worshiping with the congregation. Don’t get me wrong, I love love love serving on the worship team. It feeds my soul in incredible ways and allows me to use my gifts to serve my King. But, sometimes it’s nice to step out of roles that divide my attention so that I can just enter into His presence and worship Him. That is one of my very favorite things to do in the whole world!

Strength: I’ve mentioned that I expect honesty from myself on this blog, especially where strength is concerned. I’ve noticed that, in the name of honesty, on the days I’m feeling really discouraged I just choose not to blog. The problem is, that’s its own form of dishonesty. It gives the impression that things don’t feel as impossible as they sometimes feel. A long holiday weekend threw me off again. I wasn’t getting up and exercising, we weren’t eating great (not terrible, but it was a birthday weekend), and I just found myself feeling defeated. It’s not like I gained weight, in fact I maintained, but it was a week of battling with myself. As much as I want to only post on here when I have great news about weight loss, getting my thoughts out helps me gain perspective. It reminds me of the reasons I’m choosing to do this and it minimizes the power of my feelings. Feelings control so much of what we do, but they are so fleeting. I don’t want to put the hope of my journey into something as fleeting and wavering as feelings. Blogging reminds me of that. I need to do a better job of blogging… on the good days and the bad.

Leave a Reply

