Week 28, Day 1

Posted on Updated on

Week 28, Day 1

Heart: I was reading an interesting article last week about parenting. One of things the author suggested was that perhaps our nagging is to our kids as their whining is to us. That made me do a double take… There is nothing that I, as an adult, do that is as annoying and aggravating as my kids’ whining. Right? Right?! So, then I had to reread it to see what exactly was meant by ‘nagging’. In the case of this article, it referred to repeatedly asking for obedience. ‘Put your shoes on. Hey, put your shoes on. Ugh, go put your shoes on! Please go put your shoes on, now! Get your shoes on!’  How annoying would it be as a kid to be asked and asked and asked? But, as a parent, why don’t they just do it the first time?! Maybe it’s because in doing this (asking repeatedly) time and time again, we’re teaching them to tune us out. Kind of like we tune out their whining. It’s annoying, aggravating, and sometimes we just ignore it. So, I began asking myself how I can get my kids to obey without having to ask several times and I think, maybe, it boils down to this… maybe I need to ask them once and if they choose disobedience, there needs to be a consequence. Not a huge, life-altering consequence, but a natural consequence. ‘You didn’t put your shoes on and it’s time to go, so you’re going to walk to the car barefoot.’ I’ve done this in the past and it works remarkably well, but I’ve gotten away from it. In this particular case, I threw a pair of shoes in my purse, and when Bubby complained about his feet being cold, we talked about choosing to be disobedient and I asked if he wanted to make a better choice next time. He said, “Yes, I will put them on next time you ask Mom!” Once he had felt the consequence and we had talked about a better choice, I pulled out his shoes and he put them on. The article was a great reminder for me that it’s ok to expect obedience from my kids the first time I ask. In fact, maybe letting obedience slide three or four times is actually teaching our children to disobey! That is definitely not what I want to be teaching my kiddos, I want them to obey the first time with a joyful heart!

Soul: I’ve blogged a few times about struggling to trust God with our finances lately. Or, at least, trying to overcome my anxious feelings by choosing what I know to be true, that He provides. I was reminded this weekend that trusting God to provide doesn’t mean sitting on my tush and waiting for Him to do all of the work. I was feeling anxious partly because I hadn’t run numbers or adjusted our budget. I was unclear about exactly where we were at financially. So, this weekend, I spent some time running some numbers and taking a good look at our situation. I guess, maybe, I was worried that if I tried to look at or adjust our budget it would mean I wasn’t trusting God with it, but that just isn’t true! Looking at our budget lifted such a weight off of my shoulders! I have a clear picture of where we’re at and now we can spend some time in prayer about the direction God has for us!

Strength: I was very inspired by my husband this morning. He didn’t do anything out of the ordinary, but it was his ordinary that was so inspiring! He got up super early so he could go to the gym before work. After the week and weekend that we had, I would guess he didn’t feel much like getting up long before the sun, but he did it anyway. He got up in the dark, drove through the ice and snow to the gym, got into his swim trunks (brrr), and trained for Ironman. Then, upon realizing he had extra time, rather than taking a 15-minute power nap in the car (which is totally what I would have done), he decided to spin for those 15 minutes. Meanwhile, I had hit the snooze button and turned over to go back to sleep, but then I started thinking about his morning, how productive he was, and how proud it makes me. It was exactly what I needed this morning! It gave me the push I needed to get out of bed and do my little work out. Plus, I officially exceeded my January work out goal this morning (I hit 11 workouts)!

Leave a Reply

