MFM: Week 29, Day 5

Posted on Updated on

Week 29, Day 5

Heart: Last night was our first date night since baby was born! Not a Tim and I date night, we’ve had a few of those here and there. No, yesterday was our first night getting back into a family date night routine. Family time is so easy to miss out on because of other appointments, commitments, and plans, so we decided to make family time a part of our schedule. We picked a night of the week that worked for us and that became date night every week. So, if someone asked if we were available to do something on Thursday night, our answer was always, “Not Thursday, that’s date night.” Before baby was born it was really straightforward, date nights work out really well with two kids. Tim would take one of the boys and I would take the other, then the next week we’d swap kiddos. The third week of the month was a Tim and I date and the fourth was an all-four-of-us date. However, sweet Baby girl came along and messed up that routine! We’re just now realizing the impact that no date nights has had on our family- we’re all grouchy, irritable, and feeling disconnected. So, we had to figure out a way to work date nights back into our schedule. A third kiddo means that it will take two months for each kiddo to have a one-on-one date with both Mommy and Daddy, but they’ll each get a one-on-one date with someone every month. Plus, Tim and I get to build in a date once a month, too! The one we’ll miss out on is our all-of-us date, but I think we’re going to try to do that if there’s a fifth Thursday in a month.

Last night Tim and Banayner had a Lego date. Seems pretty simple, but for a 6-year-old boy, a solid hour of uninterrupted Lego time with Daddy is a huge deal! No baby trying to eat the Legos, no little brother messing everything up, no Mommy trying to organize his Legos by color, just him and Daddy building awesome machines, vehicles, and towers. He loved it! Bubby, Baby girl and I also had a date- we baked! Baby played and snacked while Bubby and I made chocolate pudding cookies with sprinkles on top (his choice). While the dough chilled and the cookies baked, we played Connect 4. It was a dream come true for Bubby! A few bites of raw cookie dough and Connect 4?! Next week, Bubby and I will get a special date and Daddy will take Banayner and Baby girl. I’m so excited to get back into our date night routine!

2017-02-03-08-57-16

Soul: I completely lost it a few days ago, bawling like a three-year-old. Poor Tim was trying to figure out what was wrong, but I didn’t even really know what was wrong. I tried to think my way through it, and came up with a few things that may have been factors, but couldn’t land on the real problem. Over the course of the day, and a very understanding and patient husband, I realized that I have been feeling lonely. How can I be lonely in a house with two adults, three kids and a dog?! But, here I am, feeling ridiculously lonely. I see friends at journey group, so it’s not that I’m missing out on time with friends. Mostly, I think it’s a combination of not working finally ‘hitting me’ and missing the date nights our family used to have. In trying to come up with a solution, this conversation led to the decision to bring back date nights. My soul has been needing some one-on-one time with each of my kids, as well as some regularly scheduled time with my husband. It lifts a huge weight and brings peace to my soul to have date nights on the schedule again!

Strength: It’s not about weight, it’s about being healthy. It’s not about weight, it’s about being healthy. It’s not about weight, it’s about being healthy. Exactly how many times do you have to say something before you believe it? I’m working out regularly, eating healthy, and I’m more disappointed in my lack of weight loss than I am pleased with my healthy choices. Sometimes I hate this stupid fight with myself…

2 thoughts on “MFM: Week 29, Day 5

    Mom said:
    February 4, 2017 at 4:48 am

    I love you and I miss OUR time!

    Like

      scullycj responded:
      February 6, 2017 at 7:32 pm

      Me too! Love you, Mom!

      Like

Leave a Reply

