MFM: Week 30, Day 1

Posted on

Week 30, Day 1

Heart: It’s almost Valentine’s Day! I love Valentine’s Day! I’m so excited to come up with ways to make it special for the kids and Tim- heart-shaped breakfast and dinner, special notes at lunch, pink milk, fun dessert! Banayner is excited this year, too, because he gets to take valentines to school for his friends! Knowing that the majority of the students will bring candy, we try to come up with fun and candy-free valentines. Last year we took applesauce, which was super cute, but apparently not ‘cool’ enough. This year, he wanted something a little cooler. We opted for sunglasses! He’s so excited to give out awesome neon-colored sunglasses to his friends! We made little labels that say, “Valentine, you really brighten my day!” They’re awesome and he is so excited!! I know there are lots of people who brush Valentine’s Day aside as a commercial money-sucker, but I just don’t see anything wrong with taking a day to remember to tell the special people in your life that you love them! Maybe if, as a society, we were better at doing it on a regular basis it would seem kind of silly, but we aren’t. We get busy, tired, and bogged down by everything in life and we forget to tell people we love them. Should Valentine’s Day be the only day we do this, absolutely not! But, is it helpful to have a day that reminds us to take the time? Yep! Absolutely!

2017-01-31 21.02.00.jpg

Soul: This morning, during my quiet time, I ended up in Psalm 16 and was struck by verses 9-11, “No wonder my heart is glad, and I rejoice. My body rests in safety. For you will not leave my soul among the dead or allow your holy one to rot in the grave. You will show me the way of life, granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever.” Sometimes I’m afraid to die. Yes, I’m a follower of Christ. Yes, I have a personal relationship with Jesus. Yes, I believe that He has suffered my consequences so that I can live forever. But, I still find that the fear of dying overwhelms me sometimes. I used to wonder if this doubt and fear was a lack of faith, but I’m beginning to realize it is part of being human, part of walking with Christ. This verse was a fabulous reminder to me that my heart can be glad, my body can rest in safety, I don’t have to be afraid. When I feel overwhelmed by fear, consumed by panic, I am reminded of a great analogy I heard once. Have you ever realized how fearless a dog is when in the company of his master? A dog will follow his master anywhere, into any situation, through any door, regardless of what may wait on the other side. Why? Because it doesn’t matter what waits on the other side of the door as long as his master is there. I don’t need to be afraid of what waits on the other side of this life, as long as Jesus is there. Because He is with me, I can follow Him anywhere, without fear.

Strength: I’ve been increasing the repetitions of my exercises each week and last week I started feeling it! It’s a terrible, wonderful burn! I even woke up on Sunday feeling a little disappointed it wasn’t a workout day! No, I’m not addicted. Given the choice, I’m pretty sure I’d still sleep the extra 30 minutes. But, I’m at least moving past dreading it, to just doing it and even, dare I say it, enjoying it sometimes! I think I might actually be developing a habit!! When it comes to the scale, I know I need to weigh in to hold myself accountable. But, I desperately want to be able to measure my success by the burn I feel in my shoulders, thighs and glutes rather than the number on the scale. How can a stupid number have so much power?!

Leave a Reply

