MFM: Week 36, Day 1

Posted on

Week 36, Day 1 (-8 pounds)

Heart: This weekend we put up new artwork in the hallway! I was inspired by a friend over at Bitty Bits Blog to be intentional about our Easter celebrations this year. My goal for the kiddos this year is to really keep the focus on the resurrection of Christ! So, we decided to use her idea and paint crosses using painters tape. When we remove the tape, the empty space on the page symbolizes the empty tomb. However, I was not in the mood to deal with messy paint, so I tested out an idea I’ve seen on Pinterest- Ziplock painting! It was fabulous!! Even Baby girl helped paint her picture and it turned out beautifully! First, I taped the shape of a cross onto each piece of paper. Then, I let the kids choose their colors and put globs of paint on the paper (I intentionally put most of the globs near the tape to make sure we’d get a clear outline of the cross). Next I slipped the globbed-up paper into a big Ziplock bag, sealed it and let the kids get squishing! When they were finished, we carefully took the paper out of the bag, let it sit for a couple of minutes, removed the tape and let it dry completely! Their crosses turned out gorgeous (you’ll have to excuse the awesome blanket fort behind Bubby in the picture)!! I’m going to keep this project in mind for those days that the kids need a fun project, but I can’t deal with the mess!

Soul: Do you ever have those days when you know that you know that you know that you’re seeking God’s direction in something and it still feels like it’s falling apart? That’s how I’ve been feeling lately. Every morning I seek God’s direction and it seems like it’s not going anywhere. Yesterday I got a little bit of a wake-up call. I’ve definitely been seeking God’s direction, but rather than give the situation to Him and trust that He will take care of it, I’m trying to haul the weight by myself! It’s like I’m going the right way, but not letting Him do the work. I may ask for His guidance in the morning, but then I’m anxious and worried about it all day. So, yesterday and today I’ve been really working on letting Him have control of the situation. And would you believe that, as I’m writing this, I’m getting updates on the specific situation… we went from no options to multiple options! Are you kidding me?! Okay, okay, God… You’ve got this.

Strength: Gah, I am seriously having to put my money where my mouth is right now! I keep going over the things I know to be true, and telling myself I just have to stick with it through the ups and downs. Well, here it is… a down day, super frustrating… and I have the choice to give up or keep doing the best I can. For today, I’m going to keep going. I don’t know how I’ll feel tomorrow, but I don’t get to make that choice yet. I only have control of today and for now, I’m not giving up. I’ll keep eating healthy, keep exercising, keep walking, and deal with tomorrow when it gets here.

Leave a Reply

