MFM: Week 38, Day 5

Posted on

Week 38, Day 5

Heart: I want to share a quick adaptation of an amazing Coconut Oil Fudge recipe that has been a life-saver with this new eating plan! It takes 4 ingredients, warming in the microwave, and cooling in the fridge! So fast, easy, and unbelievably delicious!

What you need:

½ cup natural peanut butter (we use Adams)

½ cup organic coconut oil

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

3-4 Tbsp honey to your liking, we used closer to 3

What to do:

Combine all ingredients in a microwave-safe bowl. Heat on half-power for a minute or so, until heated through. Whisk until smooth. Pour into small loaf pan lined with wax paper. Cool in fridge for several hours.

*Note: this fudge should be stored in the fridge or freezer as it loses its consistency or “melts” quickly at room temperature.

Soul: A couple of nights ago, during dinner, Banayner looked up from his meal and asked, “Why doesn’t God stop things like tornadoes, tsunamis, and volcanoes? He’s powerful enough to stop them, so no one gets hurt, why doesn’t He?” Wham! Talk about a big question for a little kid! It was scary, but awesome to talk with him about this… we got to tell them all of the things we know about how God works and how, ultimately, we don’t know why God does the things He does. We talked about the need for things like fires to get rid of old, rotting trees and make room for new growth and new life. We talked about the ‘physics’ (as much as a 6-year-old could handle) behind things like tsunamis. We talked about the importance of taking care of this world and that our choices have consequences. He seemed to really enjoy talking about it! In fact, it sparked other questions over the course of the past couple of days, including “So, I know that the rivers flow into the ocean. But, where do the rivers get their water?” and “How long did it take God to make the world? And how long ago did He do it?” It’s such a joy to see his little brain trying to process the world around him, trying to make sense of reality. It’s even more of a joy that e comes to us when he has questions, that he feels safe and secure enough to ask the hard questions. It gives me hope that as he gets older, he’ll feel comfortable coming to us with big, important questions. What more can a parent ask for?

Strength: Well, I’m over a week into this new way of eating and I still love it! I’m anticipating the challenge that will arise in the next couple of weeks, when I move out of the ‘honeymoon’ phase and my body starts to crave the foods it’s used to having. If I can anticipate it, though, I can get through that phase and hopefully make this my new normal. At least, that’s my goal! We’re going to Olive Garden for a date this weekend… yeah, Olive Garden. Can you imagine eating there without breadsticks and pasta?! Do they even serve anything else? Well, as a matter of fact… I know myself well enough to know that if I don’t walk through the doors with a plan, I’m liable to get suckered into breadsticks and pasta. Thus, I’ve already gotten online, looked at their menu and selected a grain-free entrée that sounds fabulous (chicken piccata with zucchini… yum!). With a salad before, I’ll be perfectly satisfied and feed my body the type of food it needs! Now, I just need to remember the reason I’m choosing not to eat breadsticks. It’s not because they’re inherently bad, it’s not “no” for the sake of no, but rather because I truly want my body to function properly.

Leave a Reply

