MFM: Week 39, Day 4

Posted on

Week 39, Day 4 (-14 pounds)

Heart: It’s Easter week! We had a service at church on Tuesday during which we did a lectio divina (Divine Reading) of the Easter story. Our Pastor read through the Scripture a total of 8 times, during which we tried to place ourselves in the shoes of various people and perspectives in an attempt to feel what they felt. I think the goal was to experience an emotional connection with the story and it was absolutely unreal! It was an incredible experience!

We’ve got a Good Friday service tomorrow and then an Easter service on Sunday. As we’ve been preparing to celebrate this week: planning the dinner and talking about egg hunts, the image of Easter has been heavy on my heart. I don’t want my kids to think of eggs and the Easter Bunny at Easter. I want them to think of the resurrection of Christ, the most incredible gift they will ever receive. So, I borrowed another idea from my friend over at Bitty Bits Blog and made our Easter egg hunt a reminder of the resurrection story. They will have eggs with candy and such, but mixed in will be eggs containing little items and Scripture that tells the story of Easter. They’ll put up with it for a few years since they’re young, roll their eyes in years to come as they get older, and God-willing, it’ll be stored in their heart as adults.

Soul: In my reading this morning, I was reading about Paul and Silas’ journey to Thessalonica, Berea, and Athens. As I was reading, I came across Acts 17:11 “And the people of Berea were more open-minded than those in Thessalonica, and they listened eagerly to Paul’s message. They searched the Scriptures day after day to see if Paul and Silas were teaching the truth.” I’ve read this verse many time over the years, but today one sentence really stood out to me. “They searched the Scriptures day after day to see if Paul and Silas were teaching the truth.” Whoa! In a world that inundates us with so much information, it can be hard to determine what is truth. This was a clear and necessary reminder for me that Scripture is the lens through which I view the world. When I receive new information, I can search the Scriptures to determine its validity. What a wonderful, powerful too we have been given!

Strength: We’re two weeks into this new eating plan and I still love it! For the first week or so, I was trying to find replacement recipes for my favorite foods. Pancakes, brownies, cookies, etc. You get the idea- how can I use alternative flours (coconut, almond, etc.) to make the foods I shouldn’t eat? But, this week I’ve begun to realize that maybe the better approach is to get used to life without those foods. Maybe instead of trying to force them into my life with alternative ingredients, I should look for healthier, whole food options. For instance, if I’m craving something sweet, I could grill a peach and put a tiny bit of honey and cinnamon on top. Super sweet, yummy, and not a “fake” brownie that ultimately leaves me craving a brownie.

It’s not that I’m never going to make sweets again. I love the 4-ingredient fudge I posted about last week and I’ll keep some of it in the freezer as a quick sweet treat. In fact, I’m even going to make a special cheesecake for Easter this weekend. But that’s just it, I’ll try to save those “special” recipes for the occasional holiday or party night! I don’t need to make things confusing with special breads, rolls, and desserts. I need to keep it simple. At least for now.

Leave a Reply

