MFM: Week 42, Day 4

Posted on

Week 42, Day 4 (-18 pounds)

2017-05-02 15.56.23

Heart: It occurred to me the other day that Banayner is almost done with school! How did the year go by so quickly?! Everyone always said “It goes by so quickly!” But, good Lord, they were right! I started to worry because I want to make sure he gets lots of reading in this summer and I’m definitely the type to look back in August like, “Crap!  Bud, you have to read 3 hours every day for the rest of the summer!” Definitely not ideal so I came up with a plan! A routine, if you will. Every day, I make a list of 3 things to accomplish- it’s enough to feel productive, but not so much that I feel overwhelmed. So, I took that theory and applied it to the kids.

Every day they’ll have 3 tasks to accomplish. Reading for 15-20 minutes, something creative (art, science, baking, puzzles, etc), and a chore of some type (clean up their room, wipe down the bathrooms, laundry, etc). Not only will this ensure that they are reading every day, it will also ensure that we do some fun and creative activities this summer, as well as teach them some basic every day skills around the house. Their spouses will thank me someday.

2017-05-02 17.36.15

I started a test run of it with Bubby at home while Banayner is at school and he loves it! The first day as I was tucking him into bed he said, “Mom, this was a great day! I had so much fun reading!” Plus, it builds in some special us time. We’ve read together (it’s mostly me reading to Bubby, but let me tell you, that kid reads the sweetest “Are You My Mother?”), done puzzles, made torn paper art for the kids’ frames, done all kinds of laundry and dishes. In fact, his chore the other day was to pick up his bedroom and at first, he didn’t really want to, so I offered to help. About 4 minutes into picking up he asked, “Mom, can I have some space please so I can clean up by myself?” He totally took ownership over his chore once we got going and couldn’t wait to show me his beautifully cleaned room when he was all done! I figure that if we can get settled into the routine while Banayner is still in school, it should make for an easier transition once summer starts.

Soul: Lately, I’ve been feeling unsettled in the most wonderful way! It’s a mix of anxiety and excitement, like I know something big is going to happen, but I have no idea what. I’m ready for some change spiritually. I’m tired of feeling stagnate. I have no idea what’s coming, I’m just getting myself ready for whatever it may be!

Strength: I went to a women’s tea at church last weekend. It was so fun! Hats, dresses, flowers, the works. I even spent days, days convincing myself that it would be okay to have something special, out of my eating plan… a chocolate chip orange scone made by one of my closest friends! As I made my way through the buffet line and approached her tray, I realized they were gone… Are you kidding me?! After all the arguing with myself and finally deciding to allow myself this “treat”, they were gone! I was so sad at first, I started looking around the buffet table thinking I could find something else… but as I looked around nothing really called out to me. The candies, cookies, scones, muffins, none of them seemed worth it.

That’s when I was overcome with excitement! None of them seemed worth it! I wasn’t drooling over any of them, wishing I could have just one, I really truly didn’t want them! As properly as I could (I was at a ladies’ tea, after all) I did a little happy dance at this amazing moment in my life! I was going to happily walk past all of the desserts to the cucumber avocado bites I’d made, fruit, veggies, and a grain-free blueberry muffin I was super excited about! I’ve never been on a restrictive diet in which I truly didn’t want the things I’m not supposed to have. But, then, I’ve never restricted my diet for the sake of my health before, either. I guess there really is more to dieting than losing weight!

Leave a Reply

