Grain-free, Refined Sugar-free Waffles

Posted on

Grain-free, Refined Sugar-free Waffles (Paleo option)

download_20170614_094636

I woke up this morning and wanted waffles. Not like “Hmm, I guess maybe waffles sound pretty good” but Pavlov’s dogs style, salivating as the thought of a waffle popped into my mind. So, in an effort to eat for my body, i.e. no grains or sugars, I had to come up with a recipe. I’ve tried grain-free waffles before… and dumped them in the trash when they stuck to the waffle iron and burned while the middle was still runny. But today, I had to find a recipe. I had to! It was important that I get my 6-year-old’s snack made, have him practice his penmanship, and get him on the bus to school, but I had to come up with a waffle recipe. So, as any true Mom would do, I multi-tasked. I tossed snack into his backpack as I came across it during my ingredient search. I checked his penmanship and got him started on the next word every time I walked by to put a utensil in the sink. I took him to catch the bus as I let the batter rest for a few minutes before cooking. Thank God for the ability to multi-task.

Once he was on the bus headed to school, I heated up my waffle iron, sprayed it with some non-stick something and tested my homemade recipe… Oh. My. Word! It is entirely possible that the perfection that was this waffle was simply a figment of my imagination as it tried to fulfill my earlier wish. It’s entirely possible that it was due to a lack of waffles in my life for the past several months. Or, it could be the impossibly fluffy center and the lightly crisp outside, the mix of cinnamon and vanilla with a drizzle of honey on top. I don’t actually care why it was… I just care that it was pure bliss!

If you’re one of the many folks who’ve been on a waffle-hiatus due to grains and sugars, I welcome you back to the waffle club!! This recipe is not Paleo, but there are pretty straightforward Paleo substitutes that should work just fine, let me know if you try it!

I apologize that there’s only one picture. I had planned to take a picture of a waffle with the toppings, looking all delectable. But, my mind shut down when I saw it and I just dove in… oops! This recipe made 4 large waffles at approximately 230 calories each (nutritional information will vary based on actual ingredients used).

Ingredients

1 large egg

7/8 cup milk (Paleo sub almond milk)

2 tbsp melted butter (Paleo sub coconut oil)

1 tsp vanilla extract

½ tbsp honey

Pinch of salt

½ tsp cinnamon

½ cup almond flour

2 tbsp coconut flour

2 tbsp arrowroot flour

2 tbsp tapioca starch

1 tbsp baking powder

Directions

  • Combine egg, milk, melted butter, vanilla and honey in medium bowl.
  • Add salt, cinnamon, flours/starches and baking powder, combing as you add ingredients.
  • Let sit for 5 minutes while heating waffle iron to medium-low.
  • Spray waffle iron so it doesn’t stick, pour about ¼ of the batter into the waffle iron and cook until done, don’t over-cook it! I have the flip-style iron and it worked great!
  • Carefully remove the waffle from the iron (I found lifting from the center worked best with mine). Top with your favorite nut butter and a drizzle of honey… oooh, or blueberries (I’ll try that next time!) and enjoy!!!
Leave a Reply

