MFM: Week 56, Day 1

Posted on

Week 56, Day 1 (-36 Pounds)

I did “My Favorite Me” for a year and it was beyond worth it! I learned so much about myself over the past year. However, I’ve also discovered that it’s hard to write blog posts every week, especially when they’re three-part posts. So, this year I’m going to tone it back a bit.

However, I wanted to share a post about my journey to get healthier. As of this weekend, I have lost 36 pounds. I’m still on my doctor-approved Insulin Resistance eating plan, which I fully intend to stick with long-term. It’s how my body functions best! In addition, I’ve been exercising four days per week at home using a mix of YouTube and circuit training! I love the XHIT videos by Rebecca Louise! She is funny, motivating, and the workouts are great! You should check out some of her videos!

About 6 weeks ago I hit a plateau and struggled for 4 weeks before I finally got through it! It may not seem like a big deal to many folks, but it’s the first time in my life I’ve ever outlasted a plateau long enough to see it end! That was a major win for me!!

IMG_2017-08-07_09-51-05

I feel better, I look better, I have more energy, but more importantly, my kids are learning about being healthy! We talk about sugar at our house, not as a ‘bad’ food, but as a food Mommy’s body doesn’t process correctly. We talk about the importance of eating protein. In fact, my 3- and 7-year-olds look at their dinner plates and ask, “Ok, Mom, what’s the protein?” They know that I won’t make them finish their entire plates if they’re full (I want them to learn to listen to their bodies), but that they do have to eat most of their protein. They’re also learning that ‘healthy’ is eating plenty of healthy foods. My 7-year-old checks in with me every few days to make sure I’m eating enough! He knows that simply cutting calories to a minimum isn’t the way to get healthy, but rather, it’s about eating lots of good, healthy foods! Here’s a snippet of one of our conversations the other day:

I was in a hurry to get out of the house, so I grabbed a spoon of peanut butter for lunch.

Banayner: “Um, Mom, that’s not enough food for lunch. What else are you planning on having?”

Me: “Uh, well, you’re right. How about I’ll have some applesauce when I get home?”

Banayner: “Hmmm… If you have a whole bowl of applesauce, then that’s fine. If you only have half a bowl, then you really should have something else, too, like a cheese stick. Gotta make healthy choices Mom!”

Such a sweet boy! Listening to him talk about journey, not in terms of losing weight or cutting calories, but making healthy choices, makes my heart so happy! In fact, what could be more worth getting my health in check, than to give my kiddos their best chance at being healthy?!

Leave a comment